This Is The Only Reason You Need To Be Kind

Niklas Göke
6 min readOct 17, 2017

“Kyle, can you try NOT to get detention today? Just once it’d be nice to have lunch together.”

“I don’t get detention EVERY day, mom.”

“Well, every other day isn’t much better. If at least you used the time to actually study, maybe you’d get more than Ds. You know what your dad always used to say: ‘Stay in school…’”

“…or you’ll end up like me. I know, mom.”

“Alright then, off you go.”

As soon as the door lock clicks, Kyle thinks about ways to get detention. “How much longer can I avoid lunch before she finds out? It’s too much right now.” He takes his usual rear end corner seat on the bus, pulls his hoodie over his head and turns up the music.

An hour later, Kyle is busy blasting Craig with spitballs in first period chemistry. “The specific heat capacity of H2O is…OW! Stop it!”

“Stupid nerd,” Kyle thinks with a grin. “That’s what you get for reading the answer off your book under the table.”

Mr. Tanner doesn’t turn around. Still facing the blackboard, his head turns to the right just enough to glance into the room. “What’s up, Craig?”

“Mr. Tanner, Kyle is shooting spitballs at me!” A long “eeeeeeeeeeew” from the class merges with a slight giggle. HER giggle. Kyle…

--

--

Niklas Göke

I write for dreamers, doers, and unbroken optimists. Read my daily blog here: https://nik.art/